Myths About Periods

I was taking about periods with a girlfriend the other day (shocking I know) and all the weird things people are told about menstruating. My friend had heard that she couldn’t make whipped cream as it would curdle.

DSC_0506.jpg

I was interested to hear about other stories like hers so I did the scientific thing and asked people on my Facebook/Twitter page about their experience. The stories are hilarious, with a tragic twist tho. I mean why does the society have the urge to lie to women and tell them they’re impure and fill them with shame over bodyfunction?

-Oh yeah PATRIARCHY!

Here’s a list of the stories that I got:

Never Attend a Wedding On Your Period

(It’s bad luck for the couple as the groom may refuse to sleep with the bride).

-What about Brides on their period?

Periods Make Girls Become Women

-Hmmm…Even if they start at 11 years old?

Dont Swim or Bathe You Could Go Mental

-Stay filthy grl!

Cramps Stop After Giving Birth

(Doctor told a teenage girl in pain).

-Yeah thats a good advice to a child: “have a baby, kid”

Periods Can Sync When Women Live Together

No. But as each cycle is approx. 28 days the odds are 1/4 that you’ll bleed together at some point. Love the idea tho.

If You Use a Tampon You’re Not a Virgin Anymore

Well I guess I’m a whore then.

Do you have a story to add? Please comment I would love to hear from you.

 

Leave a comment